Safeguarding Updates

Safeguarding Updates

Safeguarding of Children and Vulnerable Adults

Welcome to the Diocese of Argyll and the Isles Safeguarding web-page. In the Diocese we follow the standards and procedures that are given by the Bishops’ Conference of Scotland and the National Safeguarding Office.
Our Commitment to Safeguarding:
The Catholic Church in Scotland is concerned with the lives, safety, wholeness and well-being of each individual person within God’s purpose for everyone.
It seeks to safeguard the welfare of people of all ages who are involved in whatever capacity with the Church and its organisations.
As a Church community, we accept that it is the responsibility of all of us, ordained, professed, paid and voluntary members, to work together to prevent all forms of abuse or neglect of children, young people and vulnerable adults.

It is of fundamental importance that the whole Catholic community should understand and accept, in mind and heart, this essential truth: what we call “Safeguarding,” or how we keep everyone safe within our Catholic community, come from the very heart of the message of God’s love made visible in his Son, our Lord Jesus Christ.

 Safeguarding Information for Visiting Clergy to Parishes and Retreat Centres within the Diocese of Argyll and the Isles  Download
Below you will find contact details, forms to download, new documents.

COVID-19: Reporting abuse at this
time – please follow the link below:

Diocesan Safeguarding Advisor
Dr Tony Livesey
Diocesan Office
Bishop’s House
PA34 5AB

Diocesan Safeguarding Administrator
Mrs. Ita Dunsmuir

Diocesan Team Representative, Diocesan Risk Assessment for Protection of Children and Vulnerable Adults
Fr. Roddy Johnston V.G

St Mun’s Brecklet,


PH49 4JG
Tel:01855 811203

National Safeguarding Co-ordinator
Mrs. Tina Campbell
Scottish Catholic Safeguarding Service

64 Aitken Street
Tel: 0141 332 7177
Scottish Catholic Safeguarding Service website:

Diocesan Safeguarding Advisory Group

Bishop Brian McGee
Rev. Roddy Johnston
Rev. David Connor
Deacon Thomas Wynne
Tony Livesey
Ruth Black
Kenneth Black
Claire Wynne
Marybell MacIntyre
Ita Dunsmuir